Categories
Events

Fun at a Chocolate Festival

Snizl Team – Out & About at ChocFest, Melton Mowbray

On Sunday afternoon the Snizl Team were out and about in the Leicestershire town of Melton Mowbray. Totally ignoring the famous local pork pies,  we headed to a sweet-toothed extravaganza known as ChocFest.

This two-day Festival is held on Scalford Road at the towns cattle market. The venue was jammed full of local chocolatiers displaying to the public, their skills in the fine art of chocolate making.

As soon as we arrived, we were pleasantly drawn in by the delicious, sweet smell of freshly made, handcrafted chocolate. Temptation took over, banishing any thoughts of a pre-Christmas diet. It was then that a contented smile planted itself firmly on our faces and we joined the thousands of fellow chocolate lovers in knowing that we were going to be there for the day. This was a chocolate lovers paradise.

ChocFest Photo by Larissa Aspell

The market hall was crammed with stall after stall of delicious looking chocolates moulded and crafted into hundreds of extravagant shapes and designs. We saw chocolate Disney characters, chocolate tools, shoes, cakes and bars of different flavours from lemon and coconut through to hot chilli! The chocolatiers were nicely complemented with numerous other associated food and drink vendors including wine buyers, chutney makers and even a Gin Caravan.

chocfest3 by Larissa Aspell

Chocolate, and more Chocolate

There were numerous flavours and variations to choose from and the stallholders were more than happy to offer yummy tastings of their wares. Well, it would have been rude of us not to accept such an array of delicious samples…
We marvelled at all things chocolatey and then moved on to sampling the pies, crepes, brownies, tarts, liqueurs, doughnuts, macarons, desserts, marshmallows, biscuits.. such hard work! And to wash it all down, we had a fantastic selection of drinks; including champagne, wine, mead, beer, gin, mulled wine, mulled cider, and of course, hot chocolate.

chocfest photo 2 by larissa Aspell

 

Workshops by Cocoa Amore

Cocoa Amore is an award-winning Leicester based chocolatier. They were on stage most of the day conducting talks and workshops on the art of making delicious handmade chocolates. They also touched on the history of chocolate and chocolate production from bean to bar which was fascinating. Who knew that the harvest time for cacao was so crucial?

 

 

chocfest4 by Larissa Aspell

 

In need of some chocolate?

If this has got your taste buds craving some delicious crafted chocolate and you can’t wait until next year’s ChocFest then check out the links below to some of Britains best chocolatiers that we met at the festival.

Cocoa Amore     https://cocoa-amore.co.uk

1683 Chocolate Place     https://www.1683chocolateplace.co.uk

Anisa & Chocolate     https://www.anisaandchocolate.com

The Bittersweet Chocolate Co     http://www.bittersweetchocolates.co.uk

Cathy’s Chocolates and Cakes     http://www.cathyschocolatesandcakes.co.uk

Chocolat Madagascar     http://www.chocolatmadagascar.com

Chocolate Alchemy     http://www.chocolate-alchemy.co.uk

Chocolate Genie    http://chocolategenie.co.uk

ChocoPassion      http://www.chocopassionuk.com

Choqa Handcrafted Chocolates     https://www.choqa.co.uk

Cocoa Bake      http://www.cocoabake.co.uk

Confectionary Yours    http://www.confectionatelyyoursshop.co.uk

Daniels Delights Chocolate    http://www.daniels-delights.co.uk

The English Chocolate Fountain Company      http://www.theenglishchocolatefountaincompany.co.uk

Explore Chocolate        http://www.explorechocolate.co.uk  

Fifth Dimension Chocolates Ltd    https://www.5dchocolates.com

Fine Chocolate Spa       http://finechocolatespa.com

Fresh Fruit Choo Characters        07425 132224

Goldfinch Chocolate     http://www.goldfinchchocolate.com

Helen Buff Handmade Chocolates       https://www.facebook.com/RutlandChocolates

Im just so Chocolately    07952 539556

The immaculate Collection         https://theimmaculatecollection.co.uk

Jack Lewis Chocolates     http://www.jacklewischocolates.co.uk

Made With love       https://www.mwlchocolates.com

My Sweet Theory      https://mysweettheory.com

Nenette Chocolates        https://nenettechocolates.co.uk

Norma Jean Bakery Chocolates  http://normajeanbakery.co.uk

Original Chocolate Dream             07539 386221

Petite Boutique de Chocolat        http://www.petitchocolat.boutique

Sciolti Botanical Chocolates         https://www.scioltichocolates.com

Soul Song Raw Chocolate              07951 930909

With Chocolate      http://www.withchocolate.co.uk   

 

snizl logoFor local deals, promotions, and events follow us on https://www.snizl.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.